G9321 HCPCS Level II code: Count of previous ct (any type of ct) and cardiac nuclear medicine (myocardial perfusion or infarct avid imaging) studies documented in the 12-month period…

G9321 is the HCPCS code for “Count of previous ct (any type of ct) and cardiac nuclear medicine (myocardial perfusion or infarct avid imaging) studies documented in the 12-month period prior to the current study” in CMS’s October 2026 release, in effect from Oct 1, 2026.

Official description

G9321

Count of previous ct (any type of ct) and cardiac nuclear medicine (myocardial perfusion or infarct avid imaging) studies documented in the 12-month period prior to the current study

Short description: Prev ct nuc med cnt doc 12mo

HCPCS · United States

Medicare details

The indicators CMS publishes with G9321 in its October 2026 file. They describe Medicare’s handling, not another payer’s.

Medicare coverage
Carrier judgment
Medicare pricing
Service not separately priced by Part B (e.g., services not covered, bundled, used by Part A only, etc.)
Type of service
Medical care
BETOS category
Specialist - psychiatry
Added
Jan 1, 2014

Where G9321 sits

  1. 1G codesProcedures and professional services
  2. 2Active code G9321Count of previous ct (any type of ct) and cardiac nuclear medicine (myocardial perfusion or infarct avid imaging) studies documented in the 12-month period prior to the current study

Source and release

Data release
HCPCS Level II · October 2026
Effective date
Oct 1, 2026
Publisher
CMS

This page is built from the HCPCS Level II catalog that Vero Codes reads when it suggests codes: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services’s October 2026 release, imported from the publisher’s file and checked against it. The description, notes and structured data come from the same record.

Frequently asked questions

What does HCPCS code G9321 mean?

G9321 is the HCPCS code for “Count of previous ct (any type of ct) and cardiac nuclear medicine (myocardial perfusion or infarct avid imaging) studies documented in the 12-month period prior to the current study” in CMS’s HCPCS Level II October 2026 release.

Does Medicare cover G9321?

CMS lists G9321’s Medicare coverage as “Carrier judgment” and its pricing as “Service not separately priced by Part B (e.g., services not covered, bundled, used by Part A only, etc.)”. Coverage and payment still depend on the patient, the setting, the documentation and the payer.

Which HCPCS Level II release does this page use?

It uses CMS’s October 2026 release, in effect from Oct 1, 2026 to Dec 31, 2026. It is a reference: confirm the code against the current list and the payer’s rules before you submit it.

G9315Amoxicillin, with or without clavulanate, prescribed as a first line antibiotic at the time of diagnosisG9316Documentation of patient-specific risk assessment with a risk calculator based on multi-institutional clinical data, the specific risk calculator used, and communication of risk…G9317Documentation of patient-specific risk assessment with a risk calculator based on multi-institutional clinical data, the specific risk calculator used, and communication of risk…G9318Imaging study named according to standardized nomenclatureG9319Imaging study not named according to standardized nomenclature, reason not givenG9320Documentation of medical reason(s) for not naming ct studies according to a standardized nomenclature provided (eg, ct studies performed for radiation treatment planning or…G9322Count of previous ct and cardiac nuclear medicine (myocardial perfusion or infarct avid imaging) studies not documented in the 12-month period prior to the current study, reason…G9323Documentation of medical reason(s) for not counting previous ct and cardiac nuclear medicine (myocardial perfusion) studies (eg, ct studies performed for radiation treatment…G9324All necessary data elements not included, reason not givenG9325Ct studies not reported to a radiation dose index registry due to medical reasons (eg, ct studies performed for radiation treatment planning or image-guided radiation treatment…G9326Ct studies performed not reported to a radiation dose index registry that is capable of collecting at a minimum all necessary data elements, reason not givenG9327Ct studies performed reported to a radiation dose index registry that is capable of collecting at a minimum all necessary data elements